Hola, amigos. I know it’s been a long time since I rapped at ya, but I’ve been eating too much and it’s left me in a food coma that I can’t break out of.

I can’t remember when, but at one point I was like “fuck television” and then later I got a DVD player and was like “I love TV so much.” TV on DVD is extra good, there’s no commercials and stuff.

Anyways my brother and I have been watching Scrubs. I’m generally a sucker for comedy, character-driven plots, and depictions of workplaces. So Scrubs really works for me. About the depiction of work, I think the hospital setting is important. It’s a meaningful sort of work. Work being not just a theft of time is an appealing thing. The workplace as a site for more than just work is another appealing thing, and though I’ve never worked in a hospital I’ve worked in other places with somewhat similar dynamics – office politics which while annoying still have a certain enjoyable quality, office romances, etc. The point is people’s relationships with their co-workers.

In other news, I’ve had a weekend of rock. Two shows at the Triple Rock (so like at least six times the rock of ordinary rock). Friday was the Lawrence Arms with the Arrivals and Crash Burn Repeat. I’d never heard CBR before. They were good. The Arrivals were great and so were the Lawrence Arms. Saturday was the Framed, who I think I saw a long while ago and forgot were really awesome (mad guitar skills), the Arrivals again with the excellent performing and then Naked Raygun. Holy shit Raygun was (were?) incredibly awesomely good.

Bonus: the Triple Rock now has Theater of Magic, my favorite pinball game. My wife and I used to play that game on dates in Indiana like ten years ago, well before we were married. It’s great.

Double bonus: The Triple Rock serves vegetarian poutine!

Triple word score: New Year’s Eve rocktacular in Chicago with the Lawrence Arms, the Methadones, the Arrivals, and a few other bands. I shall ring in the new year with ringing ears.

Speaking of which, I forgot to bring earplugs to the show on Friday. Wadded up paper towels sort of helped but damn, I don’t have enough hearing left for that kind of thing. Must remember to throw earplugs in my bag when I leave town. My wife left town this morning, I know we’ve lived together for like a decade and so should be all bored with each other and stuff and I know I’m going to see her in like two days but I totally miss her already.

On the plus side I did manage to shave my face and head for the first time in a long while. I definitely don’t look quite so old when I’m properly shorn.

[Oh shit I forgot I need to write me some new year’s resolutions! Must get cracking.]

