So for christmas my dad paid me back for the rock climbing stuff I bought (shoes, harness, chalk bag), which gave me a bit of extra cash. I decided to spend some of it on some punk CDs I’ve been meaning to get for a while – an album I used to have by Manner Farm but lost somehow, another Shot Baker album, and one by The Feds. I used to see The Feds at the Fireside Bowl and they were always really good, if memory serves they did a split with The Marshes, who were also real awesome (I’ve currently misplaced my copy of their excellent album “Fledgling”, which I’ll have to buy again if it doesn’t turn up). I fucking love this music so much. Even though I sometimes forget that. I had the thought tonight as I was unwrapping the CDs that there’s a similar quality here to what I had/have in mind in the discussion I had with Eli and Eli about academic radicalism, and to what I have in mind generally with regard to politics and movements. Punk is primarily, and at its best, a non-professional culture, driven by interests and not monetarily compensated commensurate to the effort and costs expended in producing it. To my mind that’s a virtue, mostly. I’m too tired and sick to draw out the specifics of the analogy to politics and intellectual life, plus I need to take my dog for a walk, but it’s probly obvious anyway.

