My wife and I are apartment hunting. I hate apartment hunting but I’m trying to trick myself into thinking I like it. I’m pretty gullible so I think it’ll work. We capped tonight’s session of driving around and calling rental places with signs in front of them with veggie hot dogs and ice cream from our favorite ice cream joint. Then I dropped her at home and went to the rock climbing gym.

Between being injured and being sick and being busy and being stressed I had like a 5 or 6 week stretch where I only exercised at most 4 times, probly more like 2 or 3 times. That sucked and the last two times I climbed I could totally tell I was in worse shape than I’d been. I’m feeling almost totally not sick anymore (though the lovely damn cottonwood trees are putting out their cute little allergen puff right as the cold leaves, making my eyes itch and re-congesting me) and have been getting more sleep but I knew I’d have that out of shape feeling tonight if I did much in the way of longer climbs on the wall. So instead I just did a traverse over and over. For folk who don’t climb, a traverse is climbing horizontally along the bottom of the wall, instead of climbing vertically up the wall. There’s this one that I like a lot at the gym. The hand holds are made of wood. I don’t have the vocabulary to describe the wood holds other than to say they feel different, smoother. It’s awesome. I did it 4 or 5 times in a row, maybe like 15 minutes of climbing, and I was feeling tired and sweaty. But I got to the end every time. I took a break, drank some water, and climbed it again, faster. I also tried to climb it backwards, with the end as the start and vice versa. I didn’t get too far but I have a new goal. After another 15 minutes I took another break, more water, then back to climbing. I felt good on it. Tired, but really deliberate about how I was climbing (“lower my weight now so I can pop up to the next old, switch right foot, match hands,”) and I definitely felt like I was improving. As I ease back into climbing I think I’m going to keep doing this one in laps until I can do it really fast a bunch of times. About 45 to 50 minutes total was plenty of climbing for me. I had to work to close my hands all the way, the parts of my forearms corresponding to my pinkie and ring fingers were particularly tired. When I got home I tried to play the banjo a bit and my fingers were too tired to do much, which is pretty cool. I think my forearms are going to be sore tomorrow. I’m going to the regular gym if there’s time, doing to do some cardio and a bit of weights other than arms. I figure if I’m really diligent about exercising then in a month I should be back to where I was and can work on other pieces of climbing. And if I do these traverse 2, maybe 3 times a week then I’m going to have monster forearms which will totally help with other bits of climbing. Anyhow, great to be back climbing and just exercising in general. My wife was like “you’re really energetic tonight” when I got home, I was talking a mile a minute and being a bit giddy as we talked about apartment hunting, the dog, and other small talk stuff. I think my body was rewarding me for exercising, giving me lots of endorphins, and my mind was very satisfied as well. Wicked. And now, an episode of The Wire then bed.

