I’ve been an atheist since I was 14 or 15, in terms of the ideas I hold. I don’t know that being an atheist is just about the ideas one holds, though. There’s also habits and gut level reactions and so on. I think I’m mostly an atheist at that level, but not entirely. For instance, every once in a while when I’m really stressed out and/or something really bad happens, there’s this voice in the back of my head, my voice, where I say something like this to myself: “Please let it be okay.” Something like that. It’s the same part of the back of my head where I used to pray back when I was religious. I don’t believe in any higher power, it’s just a way to express fervent and desperate hope. I’m not praying to anyone. Until now.

My friend Adam sorted me out. Here’s my new prayer:

Hail Durutti, full of solidarity,
hallowed be thy cause.
The Revolution will come,
the People’s will will be done.

On earth as it is in social relations.

Let us make today our daily bread.
Forgive us when our comrades let us down,
as they support us when we do likewise.
Save us from endless meetings,
and deliver us from the evils of poor analysis and sectarianism.

For our future society is being built in the ashes of the old,
We struggle on, now and for ever.
Amen!

Here’s another sort of prayer, from one of my favorite albums:

The Boss

Praise boss when morning work-bells chime.
Praise him for bits of overtime.
Praise him whose wars we love to fight.
Praise him, fat leech and parasite.

