In a recent post Levi mentioned the Game of Life, which I’d not seen before. I found an online version of it. It’s like hypnotic, and beautiful. I just found a starting pattern that results in an infinite sequence!

I’m not sure how to tell you how to do this. Here’s an attempt. Count out a rectangular field, five blocks wide and eight blocks high.

The following squares are live: third from the left in the top row. Second, third, and fourth squares from the left in the second row from the top. First, second, fourth, and fifth in the fourth row from the top. First, second, fourth, and fifth in the fifth row from the top. Second, third, and fourth squares from the left in the seventh row from the top (which is also the second row up from the bottom). third from the left in the bottom row.

I think that’s it. Try it and let me know.

