I mentioned some thoughts on intra-organizational difficulties the other day, and how I’d like to think more about using Mao to understand them or at least describe them in a philosophical sounding vocabulary. My barometer or maybe it’s my canary in the mine is something like “do I like who I am as I do this?” That seems to work okay for me so far as a way to get sense of when/whether I’m treating non-antagonistic contradictions for antagonistic ones.

As a sort of thought or just writing experiment, I wonder what it would look like to address some of this Mao stuff using the early Marx. Specifically, could we use the stuff on alienation as a way to describe the mistakes and habits Mao is on about and that I had in mind? Like, in the misattribution of an antagonistic character we alienate ourselves from the organization as product of our labor, from the organization as expression of species being, from our fellow members as species being, and from ourselves, and/or the misattribution of antagonism is a result of alienation? Maybe. But that’s only part of the issue, that’s all from the perspective of one side that misattributes, what about the other side, that is what about being not the mistattributer of antagonism but rather being one upon whom antagonism is misattributed? (Even in mutual misattribution this exists, each is the misattributed of the other.)

Also – I should note, misattribution of antagonism can generate/be real antagonism, it’s just antagonism without a class basis, class purpose, or communist content.

