Yusef has been challenging me on some of my comments in my post on Negri. He also has been defending Negri in the discussion on a post at Steve Shaviro’s. To Yusef’s credit (much more than mine, I’m sad to say), he rises above some of the unpleasantries in that thread to try and have a real and substantive conversation.

He says the following, among other things, in defense of Negri. (I may recopy his and my posts from there for the sake of archiving here.)

I still don’t understand why the enormous changes in the composition of the labor force since the 19th century doesn’t demand “a new analysis of labor organization,” or why the changes aren’t well characterized by, “value becomes the cognitive and immaterial product of creative action.” I think automation does change the mental/manual equation–most work in the US is no longer manual and yet it is still compensated as if it was, on an hourly or other time-scale basis, as time worked. That doesn’t really make sense if the work is mental– years (or a lifetime)can go by with no product at all, or on the other hand, something great can be created in what seems like no time at all. (And with seemingly “no labor” at all.) The relationship of time and effort (labor) to value must be changed by this.

The relationship of a mental worker (I was wrong to narrow that down to “IT” workers,) to capital has got to be different to that of a farm or factory worker of one hundred years ago. You can’t be a farm worker without a farm to work on, or a factory worker without a factory to work in. You can be a mental worker with just a small amount of space (a cubicle) and some generally relatively inexpensive technology which can be located in your home. I can see how a factory owner rigidly controls the factory worker– I don’t see this nearly as clearly in the case of a mental worker. The nature of the control has changed. The ownership of the product, which would appear straightforward in the case of the farm or factory (I don’t think a farm worker could get away with “That’s my vegetable, I grew it!”) has to be secured with some long-winded legalistic verbiage–it’s not so clearcut. Securing the “intellectual property” is difficult.

I agree with Yusef completely that “the enormous changes in the composition of the labor force since the 19th century [demands] a new analysis of labor organization.” Negri and people he was close to have done a lot of analysis of this stuff, though the changes are not 19th century vs the present so much as mid-to-late 19th century vs early 20th century vs mid 20th century (from the undifferentiated worker to the professional worker to the mass worker), and then with Negri mid 20th century to present (mass worker to socialized worker and more recently multitude). I think there are real insights in a lot of that work (though the timing is different in the US than in Europe, as massification happened sooner in the US than in Italy – there was an influential book by Gisela Bock and Bruno Ramirez on US working class history circulating in Italy in the 70s, about this very thing, there’s details in Steve Wright’s book Storming Heaven). I wish Negri would do more of that kind of work nowadays. At the same time, I think there are real problems with it, tied primarily to the search for a single hegemonic class sector to serve as a class vanguard with the tradition of operaismo.

That’s part of why I don’t think the changes are well characterized by “value becomes the cognitive and immaterial product of creative action” and I don’t agree with you that “most work in the US is no longer manual.” If anyone has statistics to show that then I’ll take this back. And for whatever it’s worth I don’t think Hardt and Negri’s argument has to do with numerical predominance. I’ve heard Hardt defend their argument by saying something like “when Marx wrote about factories there were only about 400 factories on earth but he still could recognize that factory production was hegemonic in that it set the terms for all other labor”.

I also think that implied in what Yusef is saying – which is I think a fair restatement of Negri’s argument – is an assumption about the appropriateness for time based measurement of prior labors (this is the whole thing on measure, as if capitalist production’s remuneration before actually remunerated the full time of – that is, adequately measured – labor in the past). Yusef says “most work in the US is no longer manual and yet it is still compensated as if it was” – why the link between manual labor and hourly wages? Why is that a particularly apt way to handle manual labor? I think the same point holds for the example of a farm vs intellectual laborer, and you seem close to giving up on a pretty old marxist/communist view – that labor is entitled to all it creates (such that “that’s my vegetable, I grew it!” is just as appropriate as the appropriation of intellectual products by intellectual workers).

Also, what falls out of all this is that the types of labor Yusef is talking about – not technologically, but labor with the temporal qualities you talk about – has been around a long time. I was just looking at reports from Iowa in 1885 about unions of waiters, bartenders, retail clerks, musicians; on a related note, it might be worth revisiting Marx’s remarks in the early bits of v2 of Capital on the communications industry, by which Marx means transportation. Those immaterial labors – and I would say there’s an immaterial component to a lot of so-called material or manual labors – presumably had all the qualities of immaterial labor under discussion here. If that sort of work always had the qualities that make measure of value and time wages inappropriate then it doesn’t make sense to say value production across all of capitalism has changed, and it also seems to follow that for people who work in different sorts of industries (for instance, much of my family works in the unionized construction trades) the talk about the change in value production also doesn’t apply.

That is: the qualities Negri sees in the present are not as universal as he makes them sound, they’re more specific to one or a few strata than he makes it sound like. That means he’s taking the experiences of a smaller group and making them the defining experiences for an era. There may be grounds for that, but I’m not convinced. I think this is a holdover to what I mentioned before about the search for a hegemonic sector of the class as typified in the series professional worker-mass worker-social worker.

(Also for the record I think a lot of immaterial labor doesn’t work the way Yusef describes – I think a lot of cultural production requires putting in time that could totally be measured and remunerated by time wages and in some cases the claimed disjunct between time wages and immaterial labor could work to management’s credit: I teach, read, and write for a living. If all the time I spent on that was paid for I’d make more money than I do, and what I do could certainly be done with a time based wage – I could clock in when I’m reading, writing, discussing for the sake of my job.)

EDIT:

While I was traveling earlier in the month I took notes a few things that I want to make into blog posts. One set of notes, on the back of a small piece of cardstock, fell out of a book the other day. I’d completely forgotten about it. It’s in response to this post by Synth.

I’m just typing it up as is, not adding anything, mostly cuz I really should go to bed.

The immaterialization thesis:

1) Immaterialization of labor (or, becoming hegemonic of immaterial labor) has happened or is currently happening.

2) The conditions named above contain political possibilities which should be investigated.

3) The above mentioned possibilities are novel in some politically significant way.

4) The conditions named in point 1 are a profound change in capitalism, in objective conditions.

Something like that.

I’m not convinced of #1 but I won’t argue the point. I’m find to be wrong about that if someone can prove it or make a strong argument. My main objections are to claims about #1 is supposed to mean even if it were true. I will say I’m concerned over some things re: #1, including what I take to be insufficient attention to

a. what should done about (or, preferably, by those working in) the remaining material labor (or, labors where the hegemony of immaterial labor is less pronounced; I recognize there is an important difference that could be made between immaterialization and tendential hegemony of immaterial labor, either way I think a problem like what I’ve said occurs)

b. hierarchies and varied conditions within the labors named in #1.

c. ways some immaterial labors/immaterialization/tendential hegemony of immaterial labor functions as a means of managing workers and does not contain the liberatory possibilities ascribed to immaterial labor (this is in some ways a more specific version of b.)

Point #2 of the immaterialization thesis is a truism which could be said in response to any historical moment/conjuncture/situation (whatever preferred term you want), and so has force without #3 beyond an injunction to empirical research and organizing/political experimentation (I like this actually and wish it had that effect more often)

Point #3 strikes me as largely false, and as involving a mistaken derivation of subjective political possibility from objective and technical factors. Furthermore, it involves/conveys an impoverished understanding of the history of class struggle prior to whenever #1 is supposed to have happened/started. I suspect this ties to the search for hegemonic class figures.

Point#4 is false in so far as the claim is about the law of value, ditto on history re: #3.